According to the EU General Data Protection Regulation (EU GDPR), the explicit consent of a user is required when you wish to process their personal data. The double opt-in offers the opportunity to obtain such a declaration of consent.

Process

When you activate the double opt-in feature and the user submits the form, it does not get the special state received and the workflow is not run. That is, no workflow actions are run yet. 

Instead, an email with a confirmation link is sent to the user. Once the user clicks on this link, their submission is confirmed and workflow processing starts. The confirmation link can only be used once and is then no longer valid. This lets you obtain a user's consent before you process their data.

The email address to which the confirmation link is sent is usually obtained from the form itself via variables.

Configuration

You can open the configuration dialog for the double opt-in via the corresponding button in the form menu. There are a number of required fields that are necessary for setting up the double opt-in feature.

Required fields

Email to
Indicates to whom the email should be sent with the confirmation link. You can insert an email address from a form field by using variables.
Email from
Specifies the sender address of the double opt-in email.
Subject
Specifies the subject of the double opt-in email.
Message
The text of double opt-in email. This should contain the confirmation link. The confirmation link is available via the variables [%$FORM_VERIFY_LINK%]. If the message is left blank, a standard message will be sent with the confirmation link.

Optional information

Sender name
Specifies the name of the sender of the double opt-in email.
Result pages
By default, the system templates for double opt-in are used for the three cases double opt-in email sent, double opt-in successfully and double opt-in failed. You can create a different HTML template and sent that instead. This lets you design your own double opt-in emails.
Double opt-in email sent
The page that appears after submitting the form and after the double opt-in email was sent.
Double opt-in successful
This page is shown after the user clicked on the double opt-in link.
Double opt-in verification failed
This page is shown when the double opt-in could not be completed. This may happen, for example, when the user clicks a double opt-in link that was already confirmed.
Delete automatically
Form records that have not been confirmed can be deleted automatically after a certain amount of time. If no time is specified, form records are not deleted automatically.
Tags:
Created by awa on 2019/04/03 09:59
Translated into en by awa on 2019/04/03 09:59
Copyright 2000-2019